Having re-disposed of the monster, exit our hero, stage left.

Wait. That’s not it. Crap.

I am a twitter early adopter. I’ve had my account significantly longer than the (vast, vast) majority of people I know.  For a long time I had one account, a personal account, and since the day it was created, it’s been locked.

Several years later I created another, public account. However the purpose of that account was to write haiku about my cats. No, really, I mean that.  Look up “cathaiku” on twitter. My favorite is the one about the potato.

Several months ago I added another public account, strictly for my DJ stuff, because it was cluttering up my personal account(I DJ- a lot.).

Several DAYS ago, I realized I needed to add a fourth account, also public, in order to interact with the design/architecture community, when they started finding ME and I had no idea what to do about that. So after flailing around for five or six minutes, I created damnedgoodesign (to put the extra D in puts me over the username limit.) as a solution and so far that seems to be working out well.

Okay, so why am I babbling about twitter here now? Because now, more people in the community are finding that account, and if the stormtroopers learn who the jawas sold the droids to that would lead them back…. home. (yes I know this is not an exact quote, it won’t work in this sentence, you geeks.)

(WAIT LUKE, IT’S TOO DANGEROUS!)

Sorry.

Until now most of the people who regularly read this site are people who know me already in one capacity or another. But now there’s all these new people, who have not been subjected to not yet been introduced to me.  It occurs to me I should make (some sort of) introductory post here, despite the age of this blog, in order to facilitate that, since 140 characters can only tell you so much.  The problem is that like most people, I hate doing these kinds of posts because no matter how much you try to make them simply informative, they always sound kind of obnoxious.

As it says on the “who” tab (I think, I haven’t read the thing in I have no idea how long. It could say I’m an astronaut for all I know)…

My name is Avril Korman and I’m a designer. (no not a web designer, for goodness sake.) I can (and have) designed damned near everything.  My favorite things to design are restaurants, hotels, and furniture.  My least favorite things to design are office spaces.  Everything else falls somewhere in between.

I am *not* a decorator, nor am I an architect  (I was going to do that but currently can’t justify the expense and investement in an M*Arch when up to 40% of the profession is out of work. I’ll pass on having more debt, thanks). Just to make it clear, I’m not a writer either, nor do I play one on TV.

My degrees are in interior design,  restoration/historic preservation, and music.  I’ve been published for design(and art, actually) work several times.  This is a much bigger deal to other people than to me.

Before I was a designer I was a professional artist for nine years.  I still create art, because it still helps pay the bills, mostly in the form of carved eggs.  I also take a lot of photos and I’ve been fortunate enough to have other people like them enough to hang them in galleries in NYC, London and Sydney, and occasionally to pay for one or two. One of my photos was even in Architectural Record once, and that makes me giggle a whole lot since the photo isn’t even of architecture. Before anyone asks, I prefer Nikons to Canons and I use a PC and not a mac. (I actually own no apple products at all- my mp3 player is a creativelabs zen xtra I got in 2003. It works fine.)

I’m a born native of the City of New York. As far as I’m concerned that is the single luckiest thing that has ever happened to me, and NYC has always been my greatest passion. Why yes, I have lived elsewhere (many elsewheres, actually) and have no intention of ever doing it again.

I am deeply, deeply introverted, but not shy in the least.  There is a vast difference between these two concepts.

I also like chess and peas.  (but checkers is easier to play WITH peas.)

Anything else, I expect people will learn as time goes on.  So hello, new people.  Welcome to my wacky little corner of the web. Or something.

Oh. I also like Converse all-stars. A lot.

3 Comments

  1. I adore you.

  2. 😀

  3. Well, I learned a thing or two in any case.
    -Lynn


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

