I’m just going to say this.

I’ve just come back from, amongst other things, having a look at the “new and improved” 2 Columbus Circle building.  The scaffolding is coming down and you can really see what’s been done to it.  So I had a look.
I’m just going to put this out there- It’s fucking ugly.  As in it’s significantly worse than what was there to begin with, and the original was well known for the controversy it created on that score.  If this is supposed to be considered an improvement, we have problems.

There. I’ve said it, and I stand by it.

Photos and more on the topic to follow, because this is pissing me off.

3 Comments

  1. My biggest question is why they felt the need to put a giant “E” on the front of the building, emphasized when lit. Should the madmuseum.org have been titled something “E”-ish, i might have understood. But now it just looks like a Sesame Street prop. (Though I concur with opinions that it was ugly in both incarnations.)

  2. See, but now it’s just ugly. It’s not relevant, iconic, historic or particularly interesting or thought provoking.

    It’s just an ugly building. I am a big fan of the old one, actually. Not because I think it’s pretty, but because it was just so uniquely itself.

  3. Oh, I’m all for preserving things I consider ugly if they have other value – Fallingwater is a perfect example. It’s impractical AND ugly in my boook, but it was important to the development/history of design, and most of Googie architecture fits that category for me, too. And I can see where this building would have become iconic/historically significant despite the ugly. If one is going to flout/circumvent local and national preservation codes/procedures, at least make it an IMPROVEMENT on the original.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

