There’s always a food analogy to be made.

I took the weekend off from writing, largely figuring with the holidays and all, no one was really online anyway except me. But I didn’t take the weekend off from working. In fact I got a lot done on the Miami house project, which is starting to congeal.

Yes, I said congeal. I find that design is a lot like making either chocolate pudding or hollandaise sauce. Take your pick. The point is that there’s a while at the beginning where you’re stirring and nothing seems like it’s really happening though you’re certainly stirring a whole lot. And then, all of a sudden the whole thing comes together and becomes food in one shot. Boom. Pudding(or sauce. Your call.) .

Aside from the fact that I now want chocolate pudding (or maybe hollandaise sauce.), that’s the best analogy of how work went this weekend. Miami has started to congeal. How’s that for a visual?

This is looking like a super busy week as well since I have a lot of projects on my plate, all of which are demanding attention.

But aside from doing a lot of work on my own stuff over the weekend, I did get a boost of inspiration from this, which I saw over at momeld(they got it from Nat. Geo.) I have been fighting the urge to pull out my flexible shaft tool (I actually own three of these, and they’re far less obscene than their name would imply) and my box of micro drill bits to try to do this myself(I’m also thrilled I actually have everything I need to do this already in my house.) I do think that at some point I’m going to have to try this, though. It’s just so COOL. This work was done by Franc Grom, an artist from Slovenia.

02.jpg

03.jpg

05.jpg

04.jpg

And now, back to stirring my congealing projects.

6 Comments

  1. Dude. DUDE. I must try that with eggs.

  2. I know. I am totally having to force myself to backburner this idea until later this year. i want to grab all the stuff NOW (and I know where are the tools are, too.)

  3. OMG, those are gorgeous!

  4. jaw dropping. whoa.

  5. OMG. That is SO FUCKING AMAZING.

    The Dremel has a flexible shaft tool….

  6. I have three flex shafts. I may have given one to Mike. I’m not sure. I know FOR SURE at least two are here. I also have a wide, wide selection of microbits.

    All of this sounds obscene.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

