You might be paid to think, but you’re not paid to read like stereo instructions.

“You’re not paid to think.”

Well actually, I am paid to think. It’s one of the best things about this job. It requires you to have a brain in your head. (see: differences between designers and decorators, part #4,587) I love the fact that I’m paid to think. For someone who tends to live in their head anyway (like me) this is an absolute bonus plan.

Here’s the thing though: I don’t understand why so many people who are paid to think also think they’re paid to write using a pretentious, specified lexicon where it’s not needed, in order to sound like they’re somehow more elite than the average schmuck who is reading what they’re saying. I read a LOT of architecture and design material, and so much of it is full of shit. Not because the *ideas* themselves are bad- they’re not(okay, well sometimes they are, but not in any greater percentage over any other ideas presented differently). I just have a hard time suppressing the urge to slap people upside who can’t figure out how to write without sounding like they came out of a 15 week course in Art Criticism and Pretension, and got an A.

It’s not a matter of vocabulary, in the sense of “words one doesn’t understand”. It’s a matter of sounding like you’re deliberately going out of your way to exclude as many people who are not as “in the know” as you are. In the end, so many times people wind up sounding like *complete morons* because of it. What? Do you think you get paid more if you sound like that? Only if your clients are seriously stupid, and one would hope that they aren’t, because stupid clients are a pain in the ass.

I was reading something yesterday and there was a comment that made me think “What the hell does that even *mean*? Does the author even know, or did they just pull random words out of a hat, reordered them so they were grammatically correct, and is having a fantastic laugh over how “enlightened” they sound.

Come on, knock it off. You’re not fooling anyone.

2 Comments

  1. I call it Use use – to try and persuade people that utilise does not make you sound clever, it makes you sound like a p***k.

  2. There’s a whole lot of things that annoy me when people do this- from sweeping pronouncements about contextualism (which my firefox tells me is mis-spelled) to simple things.

    One of the simple ones that makes me absolutely nuts is when people use the word “persons” as an all around substitute for “people”. I don’t mean in an appropriate context. I mean constantly. I think that’s sort of like the whole “utilize” (or for you, utilise- Damn Atlantic.) You utilize a thing, or a skill. You don’t “utilize persons.”

    Just typing that made me want to slap someone.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

