Well, screw it.

This is way cooler than anything I was likely to talk about today.

Need more convincing?

One of the things I love most about designing restaurants and retail spaces is that they have a life span. They can be conceptual, because they’re impermanent. Five years from now(if not sooner), they’ll be redesigned into something new and creative, renewing themselves into something fresh and vibrant. The Ice Hotel is this same set of concepts, just tighter. More refined. Shorter lifespan. It combines all the things I love- conceptualism, engineering, craftsmanship, whimsy, playing with forms using limited materials and a huge, huge dose of “screw it- let’s just DO that. Who’s gonna say no?”

Awesome stuff.

4 Comments

  1. Your work sounds very zen and your process of creation seems like a form of zazen meditation. Everything is impermanent and I like that you embrace this in your art. Keep up the good work.

  2. Thanks. 🙂
    I just don’t think you can deliberately design a classic. I’m not even sure if *wanting* to is a goal I think is healthy. Somehow, it seems stagnant. I don’t care about designing a classic. I think it’s much more interesting to design something new. And over time, it becomes something else. It’s a process, peppered by goals which become objects and spaces and completed projects. But there’s always something new you can design, because there’s always new inspiration.

    And on that note, I think I just got an idea for a restaurant and a table. So thanks for the push!

  3. Those who set out to do anything as a classic almost always fail. It’s the ones who set out to do something that pleases them that succeed in making the true classics.

  4. And this is one of the many (oh so many) reasons, I try to avoid residential work.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

